Our projects and news

13. July 2018

The places that shaped my childhood

As the cities of North Rhine-Westphalia were shown on the return flight from Istanbul to Dusseldorf on the screen, and I realized that we were close […]
4. July 2018

Volunteer needed

You are looking for meaningful employment and would like to help other people at the same time? Then you are exactly right with us and our […]
20. May 2018

Invitation to the May Market in Osterath

Every year the May market takes place in Meerbusch-Osterath. Many exhibitors are expected to come and show their work. The May market is on May 27th. […]
 

We support families with disabled children in Somalia and promote the establishment of a social facility where these children can spend the day with supervision and medical care.



Focus Somalia


The federal state Somalia in eastern Africa

Somalia is located on the Horn of Africa, which is in the east of Africa and juts out into the Indian Ocean. The name of the country comes from the largest population group residing there, the Somali. By the merger of the British and Italian colonial regions Somalia reached independence in 1960.

The civil war started in 1988. In 1991, the authoritarian government of Siad Barre, who became president of Somalia by a military coup in 1969, was overthrown. Nevertheless, there was no central government for more than 20 years. Although transitional governments were formed in Somalia under the protection of the international community from 2000 on, large parts of the country fell into the hands of local clans or so-called warlords, as well as radical Islamist groups or pirates.

As a result, numerous de facto regimes have been formed in Somalia. While Somaliland has sought international recognition as an independent nation since 1991, the states of Puntland, Galmudug and Azania claim their autonomy. With the entry into force of the new constitution in 2012, these autonomous states are now members of the new Federal Republic of Somalia. The radical Islamist militias were largely fought and so in 2012 a joint Somali government could be re-elected. The new government was immediately tasked with the reorganization of state structures, which is increasingly recognized by other states and international organizations as representing Somalia.



About the region Central-Somalia, today’s Puntland

Puntland has a rich history and culture. Before the colonial rule there was a regime similar to principalities in Europe. The region was divided in three parts. In the eastern Region, called Bari, the old coastal cities Bosaaso, Caluula, Raas Casayr, Raas Xaafuun, Iskushuban and Bandarbayla are located. These cities had a political and economic pioneering role before and even during the colonial era.

In the Nugaal Valley region, there were the cities Eyl, Taleex and others, which were famous for their resistance to the colonial rule. From the region central-Somalia with the cities Mudug, Galkacyo, Hobyo the most famous Somali freedom fighters and politicians came from. But after the independence of Somalia in 1970 this region was forgotten. After the socialist government, the entire administration and all social facilities moved to the south of Somalia in the seventies and eighties, the east and central Somali states were left to the nomads.

When the civil war reached the capital in 1991 and quickly spread all over the south of Somalia, people who had not made it abroad or to a neighbouring country, fled the fighting within Somalia. They went to the eastern coastal cities and to central-Somalia. Upon their arrival they began to found an autonomous government and administration there. Today this region is called Puntland.

Unsere Projekte & Neuigkeiten

21. April 2019

Wir wünschen Ihnen frohe Ostern

    „Es ist das Osterfest alljährlich 
für den Hasen recht beschwerlich.“ 
(Wilhelm Busch) Wir hoffen, dass Sie sich in der Osterzeit eine Verschnaufpause gönnen. Aus […]
29. März 2019

WASSER IST LEBENSWICHTIG!

Wir möchten noch einmal an unser Brunnenprojekt erinnern! Für den Bau des Brunnens rechnen wir derzeit mit Kosten in Höhe von ca. 150.000 €. Um diese […]
14. März 2019

Wir wollen Zeichen setzen

Bitte erschrecken Sie nicht bei den Bildern. Immer wieder sind Misshandlungen von behinderten Kindern in Somalia an der Tagesordnung. Dazu gehört auch das Anketten der Betroffenen. […]
 

Wir unterstützen Familien mit behinderten Kindern in Somalia und fördern die Errichtung einer sozialen Einrichtung, in der die erkrankten Kinder bei gleichzeitiger Beaufsichtigung und medizinischer Versorgung den Vormittag und Nachmittag verbringen können.



Blickpunkt Somalia


Die Bundesrepublik Somalia im Osten Afrikas

Somalia liegt am Horn von Afrika, welches im Osten von Afrika liegt und in den Indischen Ozean ragt. Der Name des Landes entstammt der dort ansässigen größten Bevölkerungsgruppe, den Somali. Durch den Zusammenschluss der britischen und italienischen Kolonialgebiete Somaliland erreichte Somalia im Jahr 1960 die Unabhängigkeit.

Ab 1988 herrschte Bürgerkrieg. 1991 wurde die autoritären Regierung von Siad Barre, der 1969 durch einen Militärputsch Präsident Somalias wurde, gestürzt. Dennoch gab mehr als 20 Jahre keine Zentralregierung. Zwar wurde ab dem Jahr 2000 in Somalia unter den Schutz der internationalen Staatengemeinschaft eine Übergangsregierungen gebildet, dennoch fielen weite Teile des Landes in die Hände von lokalen Clans oder so genannten Warlords sowie an radikal-islamistische Gruppen oder Piraten.

Infolgedessen haben sich in Somalia zahlreiche De-facto-Regimes gebildet. Während sich Somaliland seit 1991 nach internationaler Anerkennung als eigenständige Nation bemüht, beanspruchen die Teilstaaten Puntland, Galmudug und Azania ihre Autonomie. Mit Inkrafttreten der neuen Verfassung im Jahr 2012 sind diese autonomen Teilstaaten nun Mitglieder der neuen Bundesrepublik Somalia. Die radikal-islamistischen Milizen wurden weitgehend bekämpft und so konnte 2012 wieder eine gemeinsame somalische Regierung gewählt werden. Die neue Regierung wurde sogleich mit der Reorganisation staatlicher Strukturen beauftragt, welche zunehmend von anderen Staaten und internationalen Organisationen als Vertretung Somalias anerkannt wird.



Über die Region Zentralsomalia, heutiges Puntland

Die Region Puntland ist sehr reich an Geschichte und Kultur. Vor der Kolonialherrschaft gab es eine Herrschaft, ähnlich wie die Fürstentürme in Europa. Die Region war in drei geteilt. In der östlichen Region, genannt Bari, gab es die alten Küstenstädte Bosaaso, Caluula, Raas Casayr, Raas Xaafuun, Iskushuban und Bandarbayla. Diese Städte hatten vor und während der Kolonialzeit eine wirtschaftliche und politische Vorreiterrolle.

In der Region Nugaal Valley, gab es die Städte Eyl, Taleex, und andere, die für ihren Widerstand gegen die Kolonialherrschaft sehr berühmt waren. Aus der Region Mudug, Galkacyo,Hobyo, Zentralsomalia, stammten die meisten und berühmtesten somalischen Freiheitskämpfer und Politiker. Und dennoch, seit der Unabhängigkeit geriet diese Region im Vergessenheit. Nachdem die sozialistische Regierung und die ganze Verwaltung in den siebziger und achtziger Jahren im Süden Somalias angesiedelt wurde ebenso wie die ganzen sozialen Einrichtungen, überließ man den Osten und die Zentralstaaten den Nomaden.

Als der Bürgerkrieg 1991 die Hauptstadt erreichte und sich schnell über den ganzen Süden verbreitete, sind die Menschen, die es nicht ins Ausland oder in ein Nachbarland geschafft hatten, innerhalb Somalias vor den Kämpfen geflohen. Sie sind dann in die östlichen Küstenstädte und nach Zentralsomalia gekommen. Nach ihrer Rückkehr begannen sie eine autonome Verwaltung und Regierung in dieser Region zu gründen. Heute heißt diese Region Puntland.